THEOSOPHY, Vol. 52, No. 4, February, 1964
(Pages 118-120; Size: 9K)


THE Worlds are built "in the likeness of older Wheels" -- i.e., those that existed in preceding Manvantaras and went into Pralaya, because the Law for the birth, growth, and decay of everything in Kosmos, from the Sun to the glow-worm in the grass, is ONE. It is an everlasting work of perfection with every new appearance, but the Substance-Matter and Forces are all one and the same. The one eternal Law unfolds everything in the (to be) manifested Nature on a sevenfold principle; among the rest, the countless circular chains of worlds, composed of seven globes, graduated on the four lower planes of the world of formation (the three others belonging to the Archetypal Universe). First, there is diffused Cosmic Matter. Then the fiery "whirlwind," the first stage in the formation of a nebula. That nebula condenses, and after passing through the various transformations, forms a Solar Universe, a planetary chain, or a single planet, as the case may be.

Every Universe (world or planet) has its own Logos, says the doctrine. According to the Occult Doctrine, Venus or Lucifer (also Sukra and Usanas), is our Earth's primary. Every world has its parent star and sister planet. Venus or Lucifer is the light-bearer of our Earth, in both its physical and mystic sense: the occult sister and alter-ego of the Earth. Earth is the adopted child and younger brother of Venus, but its inhabitants are of their own kind. Every change on Sukra (Venus) is felt on, and reflected by, the Earth. The archaic tradition states that Venus changes simultaneously (geologically) with the Earth; that whatever takes place on the one takes place on the other. Every active power or force of the Earth comes to her from one of the seven Lords. Light comes through Sukra (Venus), who receives a triple supply, and gives one-third of it to the Earth. Therefore the two are called "Twin-sisters," but the Spirit of the Earth is subservient to the "Lord" of Sukra.

That which is meant by the allegorical sentence, "Fiat Lux" is, when esoterically rendered -- "Let there be the 'Sons of Light,'" or the noumena of all phenomena. These beings are the "Sons of Light," because they emanate from, and are self-generated in, that infinite Ocean of Light, whose one pole is pure Spirit lost in the absoluteness of Non-Being, and the other, the Matter which it condenses, crystallizing into a more and more gross type as it descends into manifestation. Centers of Forces at first, the invisible sparks of primordial atoms differentiate into molecules, and become Suns -- passing gradually into objectivity -- gaseous, radiant, cosmic, the one "Whirlwind" (or motion) finally giving impulse to the form, and the initial motion, regulated and sustained by the never-resting Breaths -- the Dhyan Chohans. The "Breath" of all the "Seven" is said to be light-making, because they (the planets) were all comets and suns in their origin. They evolve into Manvantaric life from primeval Chaos (now the noumenon or irresolvable nebulae) by aggregation and accumulation of primary differentiations of the eternal matter, according to the beautiful expression in the Commentary, "Thus the Sons of Light clothed themselves in the fabric of Darkness." They are called allegorically "the Heavenly Snails," on account of their (to us) formless INTELLIGENCES inhabiting unseen their starry and planetary homes, and, so to speak, carrying them as the snails do along with themselves in their revolution.

It is said by Krishna, the Logos incarnate, in The Bhagavad-Gita, "The seven great Rishis, the four preceding Manus, partaking of my nature, were born from my mind; from them sprang (emanated or was born) the human race and the world." Here, by the seven great Rishis, the seven great rupa hierarchies or classes of Dhyan Chohans, are meant. Let us bear in mind that the seven Rishis are of the same nature as the angels of the planets, or the seven great Planetary Spirits. They were all reborn, all men on Earth in various Kalpas and races.

It is with the Regent, the informing Dhyan Chohan, that Occult mysticism has to deal. The Worlds are all subject to Rulers or Regents -- Rishis and Pitris with the Hindus, Angels with the Jews and Christians, Gods, with the Ancients in general. Each people and nation had its direct Watcher, Guardian and Father in Heaven -- a Planetary Spirit. It is then the "Seven Sons of Light" -- called after their planets and often identified with them -- namely Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Venus, and -- presumably for the modern critic, who goes no deeper than the surface of old religions -- Sun and Moon, which are, according to the Occult teachings, our heavenly parents, or "Father," synthetically. "They are neither sun, nor moon, nor stars, nor dawn, but the eternal sustainers of this luminous life which exists as it were behind all these phenomena." Saturn, Jupiter, Mercury, and Venus, the four exoteric planets, and the three others, which must remain unnamed, were the heavenly bodies in direct astral and psychic communication with the Earth, its Guides, and Watchers, morally and physically; the visible orbs furnishing our Humanity with its outward and inward characteristics, and their "Regents" or Rectors with our Monads and spiritual faculties.

Thus the Globe, propelled onward by the Spirit of the Earth and his six assistants, gets all its vital forces, life, and powers through the medium of the seven Planetary Dhyanis from the Spirit of the Sun. They are his messengers of Light and Life. Our Earth, as the visible representative of its invisible superior fellow globes, its "lords" or "principles," has to live, as have the others, through seven Rounds. During the first three, it forms and consolidates; during the fourth it settles and hardens; during the last three it gradually returns to its first ethereal form; it is spiritualized, so to say.

Analogy is the guiding law in Nature, the only true Ariadne's thread that can lead us, through all the inextricable paths of her domain, toward her primal and final mysteries. The Occult doctrine teaches that all sentient complete beings (full septenary men or higher beings) are furnished, in their beginnings, with forms and organisms in full harmony with the nature and state of the sphere they inhabit. Like each of the seven regions of the Earth, each of the seven First-born (the primordial human groups) receives its light and life from its own especial Dhyani, spiritually, and from the palace (house, the planet) of that Dhyani, physically; so with the seven great races to be born on it. So with every principle in man. Each gets its specific quality from its primary (the Planetary Spirit), therefore every man is a septenate (or a combination of principles, each having its origin in a quality of that special Dhyani). The "triads" born under the same Parent-planet, or rather the radiation of one and the same Planetary Spirit (Dhyani Buddha) are, in all their after-lives and rebirths, sister, or "twin-souls," on this Earth.

Next article:

Back to the complete list of the

Back to the full listing containing all of the
"Additional Categories of Articles".


(1) NOTE.--A student's collation from The Secret Doctrine.
Back to text.

Main Page | Introductory Brochure | Volume 1--> Setting the Stage
Karma and Reincarnation | Science | Education | Economics | Race Relations
The WISDOM WORLD | World Problems & Solutions | The People*s Voice | Misc.